Home  
About US
Contact Us SCOW Facebook Page  SCOW Picasa Page 

Sailing Club of Washington (SCOW)
PO Box 25884
Alexandria, VA 22313

SCOW is a 501(c)(7) organization that was originally chartered on July 12, 1966 "to provide the membership thereof with the opportunity and instrumentalities to become expert in the art of sailing for their individual and mutual education, benefit and enjoyment."

Over 50 years later, SCOW continues to adhere to its purpose, providing its 400+ members with an environment for fellowship and a never-ending education in the art of sailing.  We offer classes, individual use of our boats, club sponsored activities and a place for our members to come together and enjoy the sport and recreation of sailing.

Membership is open to anyone who has an interest in sailing and is willing to help out.  Our club is staffed entirely with volunteers who manage the training, skipper certification, boat maintenance, and other activities that keep the club running.  We rely on all members to contribute in some way to the club, from helping to keep the boats clean and in good repair to assisting with social events.  Our fleet of keelboat "cruisers" and centerboard Flying Scots is maintained primarily by our members, our courses are taught by member volunteers, and all our business affairs are managed by the following volunteer board of directors. 

 

 OFFICERS


 

 

 

 

Joe Leoncio
Commodore
commodore@scow.org

Richard Kaiser
Vice Commodore
vice@scow.org

Alice Starcke
Secretary
secretary@scow.org

Mike Hooban
Treasurer
treasurer@scow.org

 

DIRECTORS


 

 

 

 

Steve Youngblood
Training Director
training@scow.org

Brian McPherson
Skipper Director
skipper@scow.org

Julie Pixler
Social Director
social@scow.org

Marie Brennan
River/Bay Director
river@scow.org

 

Dick Vida
Flying Scot Maintenance Director
scotmaint@scow.org

Vincent Penoso
Cruiser Maintenance Director
cruisermaint@scow.org

Dave Beckett
Racing Director
racing@scow.org

Talya Mallin
Membership Director
membership@scow.org

 

 BOARD APPOINTEES


 

John Rogers
Chair of Training and Skipper Certification Committee
SCOW-TSCC@scow.org

 John Kauffman
Chair of Boat Assets Committee
BAC@scow.org
 

TSCC Members
Jay Weitzel; Mary Bashore;
Barbara (Barby) Ullman; 
Joe Depoorter; Dan Sandhaus; Jan Earle; 
Steve Youngblood, Training Director;
Brian McPherson, Skipper Director; 
Richard Kaiser, Vice Commodore

 

BAC Members
Luis Rivas; Chris McGraw;
Chris Tindal; Kyoko Kawai;
Kevin Longenbach; 

Vincent Penoso & Dick Vida Maintenance Directors

   
   
 Vacant
Chair of Investments Committee
investment@scow.org
 Vacant
Chair of Audit Committee
audit@scow.org
 

Investment Committee Members
Ron Sheldon, Mark Hogan, Doug Roark, Kyoko Kawai, Chris McGraw

 

Audit Committee Members
Luis, Rivas, Brian McPherson, and Ana Areias

 


 

 

Dan Sandhaus
Channels Editor
editor@scow.org

Jeff Teitel
Email Administrator
postmaster@scow.org

 

 

 

George Clark
Picasa Pictures
pictures@scow.org

Joe Leoncio
Web Editor
commodore@scow.org

Julie Pixler
Meetup/Facebook Coordinator
social@scow.org

© Sailing Club of Washington
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software